Claude Frochaux

Home / Team Member / Claude Frochaux
Claude Frochaux
Violoncello
The Italian cellist Claude Frochaux began playing the cello at the age of six at the Suzuki Talent Center, then at the Conservatory of Turin. Studies followed in Frankfurt with Michael Sanderling, where he completed his diploma and his concert examination with the highest rating in the soloist class, as well as postgraduate studies in Essen and Madrid. He received further artistic inspiration from Eberhard Feltz, Menahem Pressler, Ralf Gothoni and was supported by the foundations De Sono, Live Music Now and Anna Ruths. 
Besides Italy and other European countries, solo and chamber music concerts have brought him to North and South America, India, China with performances in halls such as the Wigmore Hall London, Alte Oper Frankfurt, Auditorium Sony Madrid, Konzerthaus Berlin, Musikverein Wien, as well as the NCPA Theater Mumbai and Teatro del Lago Chile and many others. As a sought-after and passionate chamber musician, he is a guest at festivals including Schleswig-Holstein, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Mozartfest Würzburg, Beethovenfest Bonn, Oxford, Wimbledon, Kuhmo, Enescu Bucharest and he is broadcast regularly on radio stations: BR, WDR, SWR, Deutschlandfunk and Radio Clasica.
In 2008 he founded Monte Piano Trio with which he has won numerous international prizes (Maria Canals Barcelona, BrahmsAustria, SchumannFrankfurt, Folkwang Prize) and regularly gives concerts. He collaborates with groups including O/Modernt Stockholm, Ensemble Midwest Denmark, Amici Ensemble Frankfurt, Ensemble Ruhr.
Claude Frochaux is the founder and artistic director of Kammermusikfest Sylt, which takes place every year on the German island of Sylt and the project MUSICA+ in Frankfurt am Main.

Claude Frochaux

Home / Team Member / Claude Frochaux
Claude Frochaux
Violoncello

Der italienische Cellist begann im Alter von sechs Jahren Cello zu spielen am Suzuki Talent Center, dann am Konservatorium in Turin. Es folgten Studien an der Frankfurter Musikhochschule bei Michael Sanderling, wo er mit der Bestnote sein Diplom und anschließend in der Solistenklasse sein Konzertexamen absolvierte, sowie Aufbaustudien in Essen und Madrid. Weitere künstlerische Impulse erhielt er von Eberhard Feltz, Menahem Pressler, Ralf Gothoni sowie dem Altenberg-Trio Wien und Fauré Quartett. Claude wurde von den Stiftungen De Sono, Live Music Now und Anna Ruths Stiftung gefördert.

Solo- und Kammermusikkonzerte führten ihn neben Italien und dem europäischen Ausland nach Nord- und Südamerika, Indien, China und in Säle wie die Wigmore Hall, Alte Oper Frankfurt, Laeiszhalle Hamburg, Konzerthaus Berlin bis hin zum NCPA Theatre Mumbai und Teatro del Lago Chile. Engagements der nächsten Saison führen ihn u.a. in den Musikverein Wien, King’s Place und Wigmore Hall in London, sowie zu Festivals wie Enescu Bukarest, Kuhmo Finnland und Wimbledon. Als leidenschaftlicher und gefragter Kammermusiker ist er zu Gast bei zahlreichen renommierten Festivals wie Schleswig-Holstein, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Mozartfest Würzburg, Beethovenfest Bonn und wurde in Rundfunkmitschnitten des BR, WDR, SWR, Deutschlandfunk und Radio Clasica übertragen.

2008 gründete er das Monte Piano Trio, mit dem er wichtige internationale Preise gewann (u.a. Maria Canals Barcelona, Schumann Frankfurt, Europäischer Wettbewerb Karlsruhe, Brahms Österreich, Folkwang Preis) und regelmäßig konzertiert. Darüber hinaus spielt Claude in Kammermusikensembles wie O/Modernt Stockholm, Ensemble Midwest Denmark, Ensemble Ruhr und Amici Ensemble Frankfurt sowie in Orchestern wie den Bamberger Symphonikern, Spira Mirabilis, English Chamber Orchestra und Orchestra Filarmonica di Torino. Er ist Künstlerischer Leiter des Kammermusikfestes Sylt und der MUSICA+ in Frankfurt am Main.